Decadent Gluten Free Vegan Brownies

gluten-free-vegan-brownie

These brownies are insane!!! Rich, gooey, intensely chocolatey, everything you could want in a brownie. You would never know these are vegan, let alone gluten free! We make these brownies almost every time we have company for dinner because they never disappoint! Vegans and Omnivores all RAVE about these brownies.

 

gluten-free-vegan-brownie-2

There are a couple secrets that make these brownies so rich and fudgy. First, I use Authentic Foods Bette’s Featherlight Rice Flour Blend for the gluten free flour. This flour is super-fine and makes the dough extra creamy and smooth and leaves no funky taste. All you taste is rich chocolate! You can find this flour at Whole Foods or order it on Amazon.

 

The second secret is using coconut cream. Coconut cream is different than coconut milk. Coconut milk is what you get when you buy a can of coconut milk at the store and shake it really well. To get coconut cream, buy a can of coconut milk (I like Thai Kitchen brand), and DO NOT SHAKE IT! Open it up and the extra thick

paste-like cream at the top of the can is the coconut cream. You only want this part! Scoop it out into a measuring cup and use it in the recipe. What will be left in the can after you have scooped out all the coconut cream is a thin milky watery substance, this is the coconut water that separated out of the coconut milk. I like to save it and use it in smoothies.

 

Now go get yourself to whole foods and buy some gluten-free flour and a can of coconut milk and make these brownies NOW!!

brownie-with-bite

 

signature

  Decadent Gluten Free Vegan Brownies

Yields an 8" square pan

Printable Recipe

 

Ingredients:
3/4 cup Authentic Foods Bette’s Gourmet Featherlight Rice Flour Blend
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup Thai kitchen full fat coconut cream (The thick part scooped out of the top of an unshaken can of coconut milk)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chocolate chips or chopped chocolate

 

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 8" square brownie pan.
2. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
3. Whisk together the coconut cream, vegetable oil, sugar and vanilla.

4. Fold in the dry ingredients until just combined.

5. Fold in the chocolate chips.

6. Pour into your prepared pan — the mixture will be somewhat thick, so use a spatula or your fingers to make sure the mixture is distributed evenly to the edges of the pan. Bake 15 minutes if you like really gooey brownies, 20 minutes if you want them to be a bit firmer — the top will be set, but a tester should still have a bit of fudgy goo instead of set crumbs.

7. Remove from the oven, let cool, and devour. Like most brownies, these are best when they’ve set for at least an hour.

40 thoughts on “Decadent Gluten Free Vegan Brownies

  1. These look soooo yummy, I’ve been looking all over for a good vegan brownie recipe. I was wondering though if regular all-purpose flour would work as that’s all I have?

  2. I just baked these and they turned out AWESOME. I’m not vegan and I don’t care for gluten free cooking but my best friend is observing Greek Orthodox lent and I thought I’d bake these for her. No way! I’m keeping them to myself!

    • Hi Ellen, using the coconut cream does not affect the taste at all! These brownies have no coconut taste, just all chocolate!

    • I’m sorry they fell apart on you! These are really moist gooey brownies and they can be too gooey if you don’t cook them long enough! Every oven is different so my baking times might not be right for your oven. Next time try increasing the baking time by 5 minutes and see how they do.

  3. Pingback: Tips for Making a Schedule

  4. They don’t sell Authentic Foods flour near me and I didn’t want to wait for shipping from Amazon to be able to make them. Is there another gluten-free flour you recommend?

    • I have not tried any other gluten free flour with this recipe but I have tried all purpose wheat flour with good results. If you try it with a different gf flour let me know how they turn out!

  5. Thanks so much for the recipe. We just recently went vegan and gluten free for health reasons, and my family is missing the brownies! I will try them tomorrow!

  6. Made these tonight for company and they were fantastic!! I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour with just under 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum and they worked out really really well. :)

  7. Right now I’m enjoying my brownies! They came out like a denser super moist cake but I fine with that :) I did susbtitute stuff b/c I didn’t have certain stuff on hand: I made a cup of almond milk and left the pulp in blending it until it looked like coconut cream, I used 2 ripe bananas instead of oil ( next I’ll just use 1), instead of vegan choco chips ( impossible to find in Spain!) I just melted some organic dk. chocolate, and I used org. buckwheat flour. I also used all org. ingredients in this incld. the baking powder. The addition of the “cream” is what really makes this recipe good. Thank you!

  8. I wanted to bring something easy and yummy to share with my class on Valentine’s Day, and we have one vegan and one gluten-free person among us. I searched around for vegan and gf brownie recipes and settled on this one because it didn’t require purchasing multiple weird and expensive ingredients…just brown rice flour. These turned out awesome — super delicious, rich, chocolaty, and nobody could tell there was no gluten, dairy, or egg in there! I doubled the batch and made it in a 9 x 13 pan. To avoid the crumbliness problems some other commenters seemed to have, I made sure to cool well (in the fridge) before cutting, and then stored the cut brownies in an airtight container in the fridge as well. Not that they lasted longer than a day. :o) Thank you!

  9. This is a super delicious recipe. Moist and fudgy, just like a good brownie should be. They did crumble… a lot, but that’s okay because they are so good!

    • I have been adding some xanthan gum to mine and it seems to help with the crumbling. I am so glad you like the recipe!

  10. I made these today!! Super yummy!! I’m not vegan but I have gluten and dairy intolerances so this recipe was perfect! I couldn’t get those exact brands here in Australia but still came out perfect. Thanks so much for sharing!

  11. Always looking for recipes for my daughter who is vegan and these were truely delicious! As I was making them I kept thinking they are never going to work but they were perfect. This recipe is now going to replace all other brownie recipes as they are a far more healthy option and just as yummy. Thanks for sharing :)

  12. hi, i just made those – absolutely delicious!
    did two batches, one with rice flour and chopped nuts, second with rice flour and almond flour (about 1:2).
    hadn’t got the blend stuff, so i added starch and arrowrootpowder.
    i’d bake them for no more than 15 minutes, with 20, they turned out slightly too dry…

    thank you so much for the recipe! going to be an all time favourite :)

  13. can i substitute agave nectar or some other sugar alternative to this? If I used agave, do you know how much? I am trying to stay away from regular sugars. thanks!

    • I have not tried agave. I worry that the liquid content might be too much if you use a liquid sweetener. If you want to stay away from regular sugar try using date paste. I would use 1 cup of dates soaked and blended with just a bit of water. Also, try subbing part of the sugar with stevia, that might work as well.

  14. Pingback: Brownie Vegano Decadente Sin Gluten « mazarribah

  15. I can’t wait to make these tomorrow night – what an easy recipe! My sons are egg free, gluten free and dairy free. Thank you for a delicious and yummy treat they can share with all their friends!

  16. Help! I just tried the recipe and my brownies were an oil slick… I even baked them an extra 10 minutes to try to make them solidify, and they are so oily that I can’t cut them. Eating brownies with a spoon is ok, but I’d like to cut them to serve. This has happened with another gluten free recipe where I substituted coconut oil for the veg oil (no coconut cream in that recipe). Can anyone give me some advice? Thanks!

    • What gluten free flour did you use? Also did you add xanthan gum? I’m not sure what happened. However, you can easily substitute another oil for the coconut oil if it is not working for you. I often use grapeseed oil as it gives the brownies a milder less coconuty taste.

  17. Made these two weeks ago for a party and they were awesome! DIdn’t have any real problem with crumbling but wondering how much xanthum gum are you adding?

    Also, have you ever doubled this recipe and used a larger pan or should I just bake two pans?

  18. These are very good. I made them and they were quickly devoured. Have you ever doubled the recipe?
    I noticed you said you had started adding some xanthum gum. How much?

  19. Pingback: The Sweetest Thing | sofreshnsogreen

Leave a Reply

